Marko Ciciliani / My Ultradeep I

composition in 6 parts for the group Bakin Zub by Marko Ciciliani
total length: 75 minutes

Bakin Zub in Muziekbebouw aan 't IJ

“My Ultradeep I”
The discovery of psychoanalysis is a major event that strongly characterized the 20th century. A new light was shed on the question of what individuality is. On a social level this question has maybe shaped the western world more than any other.

This is the theme of the evening-length multimedia concert performance My Ultradeep . The project comprises instrumental music with live electronic processings, light as a complementary compositional element and sculptures made of textile as a stage design, specially developed by the japanese artist Kyoko Inatome. The music is performed by Bakin Zub.

The central question of My Ultradeep I” is:
To what degree is an individuality authentic and in how far is it mirroring unreflected influences and manipulations coming from the outside.

I think, therefore I am. This sentence lies at the core of Descarte’s philosophy, which is characteristic of the enlightment period. He places the identity of the self into the spirital realm, detatched from the body.
However, it is the physical human senses that are forming the interface between the individual and the outside world and enable us to relate to our environment. It is through the differentiation to the other that the sense of the self is born.

The first large block of My Ultradeep is based on the five human senses.
The second block of the piece is based on the more nebulous 6th sense, which is here understood as the sense of the “I”.

Musically there are various instrumental textures developed that are transformed, affirmed or decomposed by confrontations with other musical events. By means of live-electronics amalgamations and/or contrasting outlines of sonic layers are created.

On a visual level three tent-like sculptures made of semi transparent textiles are symbolising two sides of individuality: the Nomadic and the Monadic.
The nomadic stands for the ongoing adjustment of an individual to changing enviroments, a state of constant transformation.
The monadic stands for a state of isolated authenticity. G.W.Leibnitz described Monads as mirrors of the universe. By reflecting themselves they are reflecting their environment.

The group Bakin Zub combines musicians from different backgrounds like new contemporary, pop, electronic and improvisation, all of which are masters of their instruments.
Another emphasis lies in the combination of sound and light. Both the audio processing and the light compositions are realised by specifically written softwares.

The members of Bakin Zub are:

Ulrich Krieger: sax and didjeridu
Barbara Lüneburg: violin, viola and electric violin
Michael Blank: electric guitar
Pascal Plantinga: voice, electric bass
Arnold Marinissen: percussion and singing saw
Marko Ciciliani: electronics and no-input mixer

My Ultradeep concert data 2007:
5 april 2007 Theater Kikker/Utrecht/NL
6 april 2007 De Witte Dame/Eindhoven/NL
27 april 2007 Zagreb Biennale/Kroatië
28 april 2007 Split/Kroatië (t.b.c.)
18 november 2007 Novembermusic Festival, concerts in Den Bosch/NL, Ghent/B and Essen/D

Comments are closed.