Oorsprong Curators Series

December 17th, 2012 7:45 pm 
Het Poortgebouw, Tolhuisweg 2 - Amsterdam-Noord Het Poortgebouw, Tolhuisweg 2 - Amsterdam-Noord

Since 2011, STEIM has been collaborating with one of the few monthly experimental series in Amsterdam, OORSPRONG. The series is built upon the exciting concept of presenting a one-night-only cross-disciplinary lineup of improvisors.

To keep things fresh, the general rule at OORSPRONG that no artist performs more than once per season. This goes for curators as well, who are mixed up every edition to encourage both the curators and artists to get out of their social/artistic/improvised comfort zones and take risks. Jazz improvisors meet dancers, live electronic sound meets performance art, AV meets poetry. OORSPRONG is often exhilarating, always surprising, and never the same.

For this edition of Oorsprong we are happy to see the return of STEIM’s former artistic director DJ Sniff in a set with experimental turntablist (and STEIM resident artist) Karl Salzmann, the two of them will team up with two Ethiopian dancers. This will be DJ Sniff’s first performance in Amsterdam since his final gig as STEIM’s artistic director back in June.

Date: Monday 17 December, 2012
Adress: Het Poortgebouw, Tolhuisweg 2 – Amsterdam-Noord
Time: 20:00 hrs. (Doors open 19:30 hrs.)
Entry: €6,-

Curated by > Terrie Hessels (The EX), Jonathan Reus/STEIM, Chris Corstens

Ken Vandermark/reeds
Oscar Jan Hoogland/piano, el clavichord
Endriss Hassen/masinqo

DJ Sniff/turntable
DJ Karl Salzmann/turntable
Melaku Belay/dance
Zenash Tsgaye/dance

Christ Corstens/reeds
Lovorka Holjevac/voice
Mesale Legesse/kobero
Jan Nijdam/contrabass

OCS (2009) is a monthly curators platform focusing on improvisation disciplines with special attention for dance, live electronics and acoustic music. OCS is a collective no/low budget project based on time sponsoring generously supported by the OCS audience, curators, performers, De Tolhuistuin/Het Poortgebouw/Titia Daniels, Guillaume Heurtebize/website, Oscar Jan Hoogland/piano, Stephane Kaas/e-flyer, Nico Bes/Jonathan Reus/STEIM.